Fucking Down

Fucking Down is latest music video directed by Spanish filmmaker Amanda Lago for musician Fatal Tiger. The video explores the struggle we face in accepting ourselves by portraying and engaging with the most extreme aspects of our personality. 

Set in a futuristic dystopian era with a strong retro aesthetic, Fucking Down presents us with several women of different ages surrounding the singer in a somber hotel room. Though similar in appearance, each reflects a unique trait spanning across the whole spectrum of human emotions. From playful and kind to brutal and fierce, the singer finds herself at their complete mercy with almost no control over their actions. 

A carefully constructed and purposefully repetitive choreography illustrates this scenario, with each cycle featuring slightly different movements - some more exaggerated and violent and some more restrained and controlled. This reiteration gives the protagonist the chance to react differently each time and learn more about herself, leading her to predict patterns in her own behaviour and gradually accept herself. 

Commenting on the production, director Amanda Lago states: “I wanted to recreate a chaotic environment, in which emotions and feelings are presented through an almost delirious dance. We live in an era in which we obsess over how others perceive us. This has led us to meticulously curate the way we present ourselves to the world, setting highly unrealistic expectations while still trying to come across as authentic. Fucking Down is an interpretation of how this dynamic affects us, expressed through a visual orgy of senses in what becomes an ongoing and vicious journey in understanding and accepting ourselves”.

Fucking Down is the second production directed by Lago in collaboration with Fatal Tiger. Lago’s previous works have won awards internationally, including Best Song Soundie 2017, and have been been selected across several international film festivals, including Berlin Fashion Film Festival, Fashion Film Festival Milano, LA Fashion Film Festival and Video Art and Experimental Film Festival in New York.

Credits

Director: Amanda Lago: @journal_d_usine
Artist: Fatal Tiger @_fatal_tiger
Executive Production: Paula Garcia & Patricia Sagues
DoP: Laurent Poulain @laurentpoulaindp

Operators: Laurent Poulain & Alberto de Miguel
First Camera Assistant: Andy Pulido
Second Camera Assistant: Jose Augusto Navarro Chiroque
Gaffer: Patxi Gonzalez
Best Boy: Hugo Vieira

Colorist: Fran Condor @fran_condor
Art Director: Isis de Coura @isisdecoura
Art Assistants: Sonia Rubio & Eva Ruzickova

Stylist: Francesca Rinciari @francescarinciari
Hair & Make-Up: Mario Rubio @mariorubiio
Hair & Make-Up Assistant: Sandra Ramirez
Graphic Designer: Tara Rego @tara_rego

Music Producer: Baldo

Cast: 

Maria Kaltembacher - Fear @mariakaltembacher
Antia Lousada - Happiness @antialousada
Silvia Maya - Passion @_silviamaya_
Angeles Paez - Anger @angeles.paez
Deni Georgieva - Obedience @deni_georgieva9
Cachito Noguera - Protection @cachitonoguera
Claudia Placer - Curiosity @claudia_placer
Alexandra Hervas - Love @alexandrahervas

 

Published 18. November